PDA

View Full Version : Who are you? What do you do? What's your taste?

fab
30-Nov-2003, 19:56
I thought this post would be a good way to find some like-minded people on these forums. Yes the subject title makes it look rather scary but please, post some information about yourself :)

I've been using Photoshop for about 3 years but have loved art for as long as I can remember. I'm 18 and doing Art A-level at school.

I got into Photoshop to draw website designs but then moved into more interesting graphic arts. I have worked with other applications such as Photopaint, Fireworks, Flash etc, but Photoshop has to be the best :). Nowadays I prefer to use traditional pencils and paints to do my work as digital art can be quite limiting. I also love photography and am thinking of doing it at university, I'm also considering Architecture (for the pay :)). But before uni I'll do an Art & Design foundation year which will be a good excuse to get stoned, watch cult movies and dress like an idiot. At the moment I earn a little cash doing the odd graphic for a freelance web developer.

My favourite art at the moment has to be Expressionism or Abstract Expressionism. Pollock, Bacon, Schiele are probably my favourites. I'm not keen on alot of digital art as it doesn't usually apply to everyone, I find using paints allows a much stronger expression.

F|E|S|T
04-Dec-2003, 01:58
Lo...

I'm also into me computer arts! Have a btec in fine art and I'm currently in the final months studying multimedia at Bath uni learning web design, 2d/3d animation, graphics, video, cd production etc etc... I think my favourite is animation and would like to get into that side more. I use most of the programs, p/shop, illustrator, after fx, dir, mx suite, 3dsmax-(which I'm still trying to get my head around).

As for artists, I favour the work by Sol LeWitt, Morris Louis along with movements op & pop art. Theres many more but its late & my brain hurts.