trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Programming

Old 03-Aug-2009, 14:58   #1
Q-Target
AKA QuebecTango
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
MS Access problem...*shudders*

So, I work in education innit. As such I'm forced to work with Access (your inflexible friend). Before I make an arse of myself on an access Q&A forum I thought I'd ask a bunch of folk who already know I'm an arse. I've built dozens of Access databases and have done all sorts of fancy shit with it in the past. But I've just stumbled upon a problem which has stumped me. I am certain that I'm just too close to the problem but, having spent a day fiddling about and failing on every score, I've had a brain freeze and can't step away from it. HELP!!!!

First a bit of background, I'm putting together a database to record and track university students undertaking voluntary work placements. The tables that relate to the problem are:

Students - contains basic student contact details - key field StudentID
Vacancies - contains details of the placements on offer - key field VacancyID

As one student may apply for many vacancies and likewise many students may apply for one vacancy, there is a need for a many to many relationship between the two tables.

So, I've put together a linking table comprising two key fields StudentID and VacancyID which provides the bridge for the many to many relationship.