trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-May-2010, 15:40   #1
[n00b]Zippy
Waterborne Trailer-Trash
[n00b]Zippy's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shropshire Union Canal
Posts: 13,023
[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute
Disk2vhd & Hyper-V

Has anyone any experience virtualising physical disks using disk2vhd (the MS/SysInternals tool) to add them into a virtual machine hosted on Hyper-V?

I'm trying to make a virtual copy of one of our servers (Windows 2003), but all I get when I try to boot it is "A disk read error occurred". I've done this before so I'm fairly sure I'm not doing anything wrong!

cheers!
__________________
And now we rise and we are everywhere
[n00b]Zippy is offline  
Send a message via MSN to [n00b]Zippy
Reply With Quote
Old 22-May-2010, 16:19   #2
burundi
WARNING: May contain nuts
burundi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prestonia
Posts: 11,530
burundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond repute
Does this tool change over any drivers in the OS as well, I've used something to change a VHD to a VMWare hard drive file and it definitely mentioned changing the drivers over as well.

There is something in the System Centre Virtual Manager tool to do this, you install an agent on the physical machine and it streams it to a new virtual machine.
__________________
I arose gigantic and black, I howled at the night and the night howled back.
burundi is offline  
 Geldrey 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-May-2010, 16:23   #3
burundi
WARNING: May contain nuts
burundi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prestonia
Posts: 11,530
burundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by burundi View Post
Does this tool change over any drivers in the OS as well, I've used something to change a VHD to a VMWare hard drive file and it definitely mentioned changing the drivers over as well.

There is something in the System Centre Virtual Manager tool to do this, you install an agent on the physical machine and it streams it to a new virtual machine.
Another thing we do when copying a machine to different hardware is set the IDE controllers to standard IDE controller in windows before making the image, this ensures that a different motherboard won't upset windows when it tries to start.

Are you going from a scsi based server to an IDE based virtual machine?
__________________
I arose gigantic and black, I howled at the night and the night howled back.
burundi is offline  
 Geldrey 
Reply With Quote
Old 22-May-2010, 20:12   #4
[email protected]
my post count gets me dates
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 4,114
spl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond reputespl@t has a reputation beyond repute
Can't say I've used it myself but I've read some best practices for using the tool. Could well have been on their blog, I will see if I can find it.

Also they update their tools fairly frequently so I'm sure it would be worth trying the latest version if you're not already.
spl@t is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobao Hyper ST GLoBaL ChiLLaGe For Sale, Freebies and Deals Forum 7 18-May-2009 22:04
Street Fighter II Hyper Fighting Darksaber Consoles 5 02-Aug-2006 15:08
Hyper threading ? mAF Hardware 21 03-Jul-2004 23:23

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net