trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-Sep-2008, 10:39   #1
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe
Bosh!
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 3,247
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond repute
Bluetooth Not Found...

I'm trying to sort out a problem with a bluetooth device intergrated in a HP laptop - The device works with other user accounts (admin or not) and is installed fine but when I try to 'configure bluetooth device' from the control panel using the main users logon account, a box pops up saying 'Bluetooth Device not found, please verify your BT device is properly connected and switched on' The thing is, it was working fine on his account over the last few days. any ideas?

I've tried the following so far;

reinstalled the bluetooth
added user to admin group.
removed old reg key associated with the hardware.
successfully logged on as a non-admin account and had the device working with the phone.
obviously made sure the device is switched on, on the front.

I'm kinda bored with it now!

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,

Steve
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe is offline  
 stant0s 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-Sep-2008, 10:41   #2
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,750
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
If it works on a non-admin account, why not remove the user from the admin group? Possibly copy the profile from the working one to their one? Granted it doesn't solve the problem but it would at least bypass it.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-Sep-2008, 11:14   #3
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe
Bosh!
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 3,247
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond repute
I have removed him from the admin group and tried, but to no avail. I wanted to stay away from copying the profile due to the ballache of all local settings. Though in the long run this would probably be quicker!

still on the case now.
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe is offline  
 stant0s 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-Sep-2008, 12:31   #4
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe
Bosh!
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Guernsey
Posts: 3,247
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond reputeGLoBaL ChiLLaGe has a reputation beyond repute
finally sorted it - i neglected to tell you that nokia pc suite was being used as well. for some reason the NCLBTHandler.exe was causing the problems - not sure if a config file had become corrupt, but removing the hardware first, tehn the nokia application and all associated reg keys worked.

sorted.
GLoBaL ChiLLaGe is offline  
 stant0s 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-Sep-2008, 14:28   #5
Scrobbs
Sunnyvale Supervisor
Scrobbs's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the pipe, five by five.
Posts: 15,712
Scrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond reputeScrobbs has a reputation beyond repute
Nokia PC software in being a shonky pile of bollocks shocker.
__________________
http://bit.ly/debatethebill
Scrobbs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Hardware

Tags
open it in notepad

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bluetooth landline handset? Norphy Mobile Phones, Tablets & PDAs 2 20-Aug-2008 14:49
Bluetooth Headsets =Lazarus= Discussion 21 20-Jun-2007 16:53
PDA, Phone, Bluetooth, GPRS ! Bilb Internet Connection & Networking 5 19-Jun-2007 12:31
bluetooth laptop mice ?!?!? Intron Hardware 0 26-Dec-2006 03:00
Samsung e720 & bluetooth milou Mobile Phones, Tablets & PDAs 5 13-Aug-2005 13:44

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net