trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Internet Connection & Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-Nov-2008, 13:43   #1
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Connection Issues...non wireless. What have I done? Help!

Currently posting this from my Dad's laptop (wirelessly connected to my network).

My main PC (the only one wired into my router) will not connect to the internet...at all.

Now, this wouldn't be confusing if not for the fact that utorrent is downloading...

The last thing I remember doing before it all went wrong was using that port forwarding site to see how to open the port for utorrent. I may have pressed enter after entering the port number of utorrent...could that be the problem?

After a bit of research (read as "frantically browing the net") I see that port 80 is the one that controls web access. But...my wireless devices work fine. My Dad's laptop works; I can get on Xbox Live; even the WiFi on my mobile works. If there was a problem with port 80 wouldn't it stop all traffic from all devices? Or at least from the web browsing ones.

I don't understand this at all. MSN isn't connecting either. Does that use a different port?

What have I done? What can I do? I'm pleading for help here.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 13:48   #2
funkeh
Knerps for moisture...
funkeh's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: iliveinfrance.com
Posts: 9,507
funkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond reputefunkeh has a reputation beyond repute
format c
__________________
Niqqa Plz
funkeh is offline  
 frencheh 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 13:52   #3
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,839
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Turn off the port forwarding you configured. If you pass go do not collect 200.
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 13:52   #4
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
This sounds like a dns problem.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 14:11   #5
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,839
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
You could try checking your IP address used for your wired PC (provided ny DHCP) and say you have 192.160.1.1 change it manually in windows to 192.168.1.50 (50 should be well outside the range assigned to other devices on the wireless (assuming you have less that 50 devices ).

You'll have to manually set your default gateway and DNS addresses to the same that were given by DHCP before.

This will test if you only broke port forwarding to the IP address assigned to your wired PC.


It's probably easier to just reverse whatever you broke in the router's config though by removing all the port farwarding config and starting again.
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:02   #6
jimbobaggies
BOING BOING!
jimbobaggies's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The English Riviera!
Posts: 10,026
jimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond reputejimbobaggies has a reputation beyond repute
What is your upload set to in utorrent. If you max out your upload then you generally cant do much else with your connection....have you tried turning off utorrent? Rebooting PC? resetting your PCs network connection?
__________________
Labor Omnia Vincit
jimbobaggies is offline  
Send a message via ICQ to jimbobaggies Send a message via MSN to jimbobaggies Send a message via Yahoo to jimbobaggies
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:05   #7
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Open a browser on the ailing PC and tap this in the address bar:


http://83.170.82.38

Does it show anything familiar?
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:05   #8
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
^ erm...wtf?
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:07   #9
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Only Velvet would have cats called Ash n Vael...groan.

Last edited by Q-Target; 28-Nov-2008 at 15:20. Reason: vael instead of vale...apparently
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:16   #10
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-Target View Post
Only Velvet would have cats called Ash n Vale...groan.
I thought that they were Ash and Vael.

Besides am I being dim, or do I not get the joke?
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:19   #11
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
No joke, I was just trying to rule out a DNS fault by getting him to use an IP to visit a site rather than a URL. I pinged this here forum and that was the IP it gave. Imagine my surprise when a screen full of pussy with legs akimbo appeared.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:22   #12
pHk
lolzipan
pHk's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,458
pHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond repute
For starters, define "will not connect to the internet...at all".

Can you browse? If so, which browser? Does the browser make a difference? Can you e-mail? Etc.
pHk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:23   #13
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
Ahh kk.

Yeah think BigV is using a shared hosting box now. Suppose Ash and Vael is much better than Chip N Dale!
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:23   #14
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
If his torrents are working then it's clearly a DNS issue...as I said above but it may have been assumed that I was joking as that's pretty much all I ever do.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:25   #15
pHk
lolzipan
pHk's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,458
pHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond repute
Why is it clearly a DNS issue if torrents work? Unless trackers are always defined as IP's (which they're not), he would have the same issue. Unless he can't actually connect to the tracker either and is downloading entirely from DHT peers.

We need more information. MOAR INFORMATION, GOD DAMNIT!
pHk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:27   #16
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Torrents working (largely IP-based), "internet" doesn't work (largely DNS-based). Clearly DNS...clearly.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:29   #17
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
Not necessarily ... might have some kind of spyware or virus which is changing browser proxy settings. Other things such as MSN use the browser proxy settings.

My first cause of action would be to Open a command prompt and do:

nslookup www.trickery.net

If that comes back with:
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.trickery.net
Address: 83.170.82.38

Then DNS is working.

Then, also in command prompt try:
tracert www.trickery.net

If after several hops it finally gets to 83.170.82.38 then we know it has worked ok.

This shows that the machine is working on t'internet and that there is a proxy or browser issue.
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:36   #18
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
There's not anything in the router's port forwarding config, which is why I'm (even more) confused.

And for some reason the wired PC sometimes even refuses to load the router config page.

If I bought a new router, would that fix things?
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:39   #19
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by pHk View Post
For starters, define "will not connect to the internet...at all".

Can you browse? If so, which browser? Does the browser make a difference? Can you e-mail? Etc.
No e-mail. Neither firefox or IE will load pages. No MSN. Intermittent loading of router config page, usually after a restart.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:43   #20
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Have you tried what bilb suggested ^?

If all else fails, reset router to factory settings.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:50   #21
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilb View Post
Not necessarily ... might have some kind of spyware or virus which is changing browser proxy settings. Other things such as MSN use the browser proxy settings.

My first cause of action would be to Open a command prompt and do:

nslookup www.trickery.net

If that comes back with:
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.trickery.net
Address: 83.170.82.38

Then DNS is working.
Just tried. That's exactly what I get.

Quote:
Then, also in command prompt try:
tracert www.trickery.net

If after several hops it finally gets to 83.170.82.38 then we know it has worked ok.

This shows that the machine is working on t'internet and that there is a proxy or browser issue.
Just tried that. After 8 hops it gets to 83.170.82.38.

Proxy or browser issue...So, ultimately, what does that mean?


Hang on...just opened firefox...google homepage loads...nothing else though.
Restarted firefox, nothing.

What does that mean?

Also, I reset the router to factory settings earlier. After a panicked couple of minutes trying to get this laptop back online, I see that the problem still remains on the wired PC.

What is going on?
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:51   #22
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
What happens if you attempt a google search?
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:52   #23
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Btw, on the torrent front. Sometimes utorrent's little notification thing is green and says that the network connection is working as it should. Other times it's the little yellow triangle saying something is wrong.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:55   #24
pHk
lolzipan
pHk's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,458
pHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond repute
Has it connected to the tracker (you can see this in one of the tabs at the bottom)?

Seems to me like your internet settings (Control Panel -> Internet Options) are fucked like others have already suggested.
pHk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 15:58   #25
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Google search before didn't do anything. Just tried it again (not expecting google to load this time) and not only did it load but it returned search results in seconds.

Also managed to get trickery open in it. Tried to open the Virgin Broadband Status screen, but it looks like it's going to time out. Could all this be a virgin problem?


utorrent: No connection to any trackers. A few seeds are green up arrows though, others are red.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:06   #26
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,753
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Virgin service status reports no current issues nationally or in the north west (assuming that you are in Preston as your IP would suggest)
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:11   #27
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,839
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
is it a 4 port router ? Try another port... (in case ethernet errors are causing big packets to be corrupted but small ones are working correctly).

If it's struggling to load the router config page then that could indicate a basic connectivity issue between the PC and the router.

try:

ping -l 1500 83.170.82.38 -t
(use control + c to stop it after 30 or so ping replies)
This ping uses 1500 byte packets insted of the standard 32 byte payload so will simulate real traffic better. You might want to add "-f" to the end to force it to not fragment too.... e.g. ping -l 900 83.170.82.38 -t -f


edit: try the same type of ping to your router's ip address too

Last edited by Blunteh; 28-Nov-2008 at 16:14.
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:15   #28
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-Target View Post
Virgin service status reports no current issues nationally or in the north west (assuming that you are in Preston as your IP would suggest)
Yeah, just been checking it myself. And I suppose it would affect the overall connection, not just one computer.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:16   #29
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
I still think there may be a virus or trojan affecting internet connectivity.
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:16   #30
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,839
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoDuck View Post
I suppose it would affect the overall connection, not just one computer.
Correct, to your ISP your entire home network is one computer (i.e. your router)
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Internet Connection & Networking

Tags
crybaby smells of peas, enable wpa, nut in front of keyboard, open it in notepad

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless connection delays perhaps ?? cheekyjay Internet Connection & Networking 1 18-Jul-2007 16:53
Slow wireless connection Sub.Zero Internet Connection & Networking 3 06-Mar-2007 22:38
The fun you can have with blograffiti blurr Discussion 43 24-Aug-2006 11:26
1.3 Patch - Readme and Change log file Martigan Far Cry 3 03-Feb-2005 14:29
Help with wireless internet connection Sub.Zero Internet Connection & Networking 1 07-Oct-2004 22:31

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net