trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Internet Connection & Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:19   #31
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,821
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Just thought of another option... your Dad's laptop has an RJ45 ethernet connector I assume ? Turn off wireless and test the ethernet ports with the laptop to isolate the problem as either the PC or the router's ethernet ports... (i.e. if the laptop works fine on all ports then we could probably assume that the issue is either specific to the PC or specific to the IP assigned to the PC (if you check what IP is being assigned to the laptop and it takes the same IP and works OK then we know it's just the PC itself)).

Bilb might be right.... in which case choose a better class of pron site in future !!
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:20   #32
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,742
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Find and edit your HOSTS file

Windows XP = C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\Etc

Paste the content here...or something.
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:26   #33
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blunteh View Post
is it a 4 port router ? Try another port... (in case ethernet errors are causing big packets to be corrupted but small ones are working correctly).

If it's struggling to load the router config page then that could indicate a basic connectivity issue between the PC and the router.

try:

ping -l 1500 83.170.82.38 -t
(use control + c to stop it after 30 or so ping replies)
This ping uses 1500 byte packets insted of the standard 32 byte payload so will simulate real traffic better. You might want to add "-f" to the end to force it to not fragment too.... e.g. ping -l 900 83.170.82.38 -t -f


edit: try the same type of ping to your router's ip address too
Tried with that IP and with router, both fine.

I tried the ping with the -f and it says "packet needs to be fragmented but DF set".


I'll try this laptop from a wired connection...brb
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:29   #34
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,821
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoDuck View Post
Tried with that IP and with router, both fine.

I tried the ping with the -f and it says "packet needs to be fragmented but DF set".


I'll try this laptop from a wired connection...brb

Try ping -l 1400 83.170.82.38 -t -f (I don't know what your path MTU is so try dropping the 1400 value to lower till you see replies...) If you get all replies it's ok... if there is a problem I'd expect to see intermittant failures
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:41   #35
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blunteh View Post
Try ping -l 1400 83.170.82.38 -t -f (I don't know what your path MTU is so try dropping the 1400 value to lower till you see replies...) If you get all replies it's ok... if there is a problem I'd expect to see intermittant failures
Dropping it to 1400 gets replies.


Oh and wired connection on laptop works fine. That means it's the PC, doesn't it?
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:44   #36
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,821
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Yeah almost certainly... did you check what IP address you got on the laptop wired connection vs the pc's wired connection ? (to rule out the port forwarding being broken on the router and bound to the ip address)
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 16:54   #37
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Stuck the ethernet back into the laptop and did a reboot to make sure, but the IP of the laptop isn't the same as the PC. PC gets 192.168.1.2, laptop (even when it's the only connected device) gets 192.168.1.3.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 17:03   #38
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
__________________
@TomJJarvis

Last edited by Bilb; 28-Nov-2008 at 17:03. Reason: Sorry couldn't reisist!
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 17:06   #39
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
What. The. Fuck?

It's working now.

Things I've done between not-working and suddenly working:
Plugged the ethernet back in the PC from the laptop;
Reset the IE settings from the Internet Options menu;
Cleared the cache and cookies from firefox.


It can't have been that simple, can it?
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 17:07   #40
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
might actually have been a loose connection. Or possibly a problem with the nut in front of the keyboard.
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 17:08   #41
PseudoDuck
flame fodder
PseudoDuck's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 141
PseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant futurePseudoDuck has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bilb View Post
Or possibly a problem with the nut in front of the keyboard.
That seems the most likely.


Thanks for all the help anyway.
__________________
WOW noob
Dragonblight
Trogdar - Draenei Warrior
PseudoDuck is offline  
 lulzMonkey   PseudoDuck 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 17:10   #42
Bilb
Amazeballs!
Bilb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Elite Elevated Equine Division
Posts: 11,283
Bilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond reputeBilb has a reputation beyond repute
Glad its working.
__________________
@TomJJarvis
Bilb is offline  
Send a message via Skype™ to Bilb  jarvthelegend 
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2008, 19:35   #43
Blunteh
Return of the Colander
Blunteh's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,821
Blunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond reputeBlunteh has a reputation beyond repute
Blunteh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2009, 08:21   #44
pHk
lolzipan
pHk's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,458
pHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond reputepHk has a reputation beyond repute
Thread rezzzz!

Just had a similar issue, couldn't load trickery.net any more in Firefox. Cleared the trickery cookies, and it has started working again. Totally like, weird, dude.
pHk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2009, 18:55   #45
wooly-back-jack
Tactical Hider
wooly-back-jack's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wigan
Posts: 11,582
wooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond reputewooly-back-jack has a reputation beyond repute
trickery been playing up for me the last week too
wooly-back-jack is offline  
Send a message via MSN to wooly-back-jack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Internet Connection & Networking

Tags
crybaby smells of peas, enable wpa, nut in front of keyboard, open it in notepad

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless connection delays perhaps ?? cheekyjay Internet Connection & Networking 1 18-Jul-2007 16:53
Slow wireless connection Sub.Zero Internet Connection & Networking 3 06-Mar-2007 22:38
The fun you can have with blograffiti blurr Discussion 43 24-Aug-2006 11:26
1.3 Patch - Readme and Change log file Martigan Far Cry 3 03-Feb-2005 14:29
Help with wireless internet connection Sub.Zero Internet Connection & Networking 1 07-Oct-2004 22:31

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net