trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-May-2015, 09:34   #1
GroovYF
Octave Doctor
GroovYF's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halifax
Posts: 23,356
GroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond repute
BBC website showing in simplified format

This one's been bugging me for a while now... BBC sites (news, main page, sports, etc) appear as though no CSS is loading/interpreted at all.
Text is Times New Roman, hyperlinks are simply blue and underlined.
...and this *only* happens with the BBC site. No others present themselves this way.

This happens in both Firefox and IE9 (Windows 7), so have ruled out settings within browser. Starting browsers in safe mode/without add-ons doesn't fix things either.


Any ideas? Not had much luck with google to be honest.

I'm thinking Format C: may be the fix! Or my user profile may be borked somehow, but I'm loathe to delete that too, as have lots of software which would require settings tweaks.
__________________
photoblog
GroovYF is offline  
 groovyf 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 09:57   #2
BFH
Fixer of dead hard drives
BFH's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Final Frontier
Posts: 3,309
BFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond reputeBFH has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by GroovYF View Post
This one's been bugging me for a while now... BBC sites (news, main page, sports, etc) appear as though no CSS is loading/interpreted at all.
Text is Times New Roman, hyperlinks are simply blue and underlined.
...and this *only* happens with the BBC site. No others present themselves this way.

This happens in both Firefox and IE9 (Windows 7), so have ruled out settings within browser. Starting browsers in safe mode/without add-ons doesn't fix things either.


Any ideas? Not had much luck with google to be honest.

I'm thinking Format C: may be the fix! Or my user profile may be borked somehow, but I'm loathe to delete that too, as have lots of software which would require settings tweaks.
Have you pressed f12? - access the dev tools and see if the browser has some stupid settings but yeah, defo sounds like the css isn't being loaded. Is it more than one machine? - if so then something more "global" could be at play.
__________________
Elite Dangerous: Cmdr Naughtius Maximus
Moto: fuck it
BFH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 10:02   #3
Q-Target
he'll hoof you in the works
Q-Target's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Not Brighton
Posts: 36,742
Q-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond reputeQ-Target has a reputation beyond repute
Open it in notepad

Sounds like a DNS problem

etc
Q-Target is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 10:40   #4
GroovYF
Octave Doctor
GroovYF's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halifax
Posts: 23,356
GroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond repute
Cheers

Tried F12 in Firefox, and got a message about stylesheet could not be loaded: http://static.bbci.co.uk/h4clock/0.7...le/h4clock.css

Tried copying/pasting the address into both FF and IE and get problem loading page errors. Will dig further.
__________________
photoblog

Last edited by GroovYF; 08-May-2015 at 10:45.
GroovYF is offline  
 groovyf 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 10:46   #5
[n00b]Zippy
Waterborne Trailer-Trash
[n00b]Zippy's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shropshire Union Canal
Posts: 12,317
[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute
I can load that fine
__________________
And now we rise and we are everywhere
[n00b]Zippy is offline  
Send a message via MSN to [n00b]Zippy
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 10:48   #6
GroovYF
Octave Doctor
GroovYF's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halifax
Posts: 23,356
GroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond repute
Yup, that worked OK on my iPhone too. I did wonder about adblock but as I've tried FF without it (safe mode), I've ruled that out.
__________________
photoblog
GroovYF is offline  
 groovyf 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 10:51   #7
GroovYF
Octave Doctor
GroovYF's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halifax
Posts: 23,356
GroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond repute
Oh, and it's just my PC at work. The company laptop I have (and connected to same network) displays BBC correctly.

No difference with DNS/network settings.

(Going to swap over their respective network cables though... as a test)
__________________
photoblog
GroovYF is offline  
 groovyf 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 13:14   #8
EvilGrin
spam isn't just for eating
EvilGrin's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancs, UK.
Posts: 7,382
EvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond repute
Does your work do any sort of web filtering?
__________________
Edugeek - Techies in Education!
EvilGrin is offline  
Send a message via ICQ to EvilGrin Send a message via AIM to EvilGrin Send a message via MSN to EvilGrin Send a message via Yahoo to EvilGrin  EvilGrinUK 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 13:27   #9
[n00b]Zippy
Waterborne Trailer-Trash
[n00b]Zippy's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Shropshire Union Canal
Posts: 12,317
[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute[n00b]Zippy has a reputation beyond repute
Try using Fiddler to debug what's happening to the request?
__________________
And now we rise and we are everywhere
[n00b]Zippy is offline  
Send a message via MSN to [n00b]Zippy
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 13:37   #10
burundi
WARNING: May contain nuts
burundi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prestonia
Posts: 11,294
burundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond reputeburundi has a reputation beyond repute
Checked hosts file?

static.bbci.co.uk resolves to this on my machine: a1638.g.akamai.net [23.62.53.49]
__________________
I arose gigantic and black, I howled at the night and the night howled back.
burundi is offline  
 Geldrey 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-May-2015, 13:49   #11
GroovYF
Octave Doctor
GroovYF's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Halifax
Posts: 23,356
GroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond reputeGroovYF has a reputation beyond repute
Just swapped over the network cable from PC to the laptop, and the laptop still works fine in both FF and IE. So, let's rule out the network then!

[Edit: Ooops... hadn't thought of checking hosts file as I've not fiddled with it for quite some time - needing to add servers... 127.0.0.1 static.bbci.co.uk]. Clearly my crude attempt at ad-blocking.



Ta burundi!

[Double-edit: Actually, I know why I would have done that. A while ago our route to the internet changed and sites thought we were based in Gdynia, Poland. The knock-on effect of that was BBC showed adverts on their pages. The route presentation was then fixed... and I forgot what I'd done].
__________________
photoblog

Last edited by GroovYF; 08-May-2015 at 13:54.
GroovYF is offline  
 groovyf 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security

Tags
open it in notepad, sounds like a dns problem

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Registrar/Transferring domain and website ownership blurr Website Development 2 22-Aug-2014 18:45
Website Optimisation devs Website Development 25 02-Sep-2010 16:38
Website design devs Discussion 12 06-Aug-2008 23:39
First Website - Advice =Lazarus= Website Development 21 15-May-2007 20:40
Free website templates GEFORCE Website Development 9 13-Sep-2005 15:34

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net