trickery.net  

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-Apr-2017, 00:18   #1
Big Bopper
WTF
Big Bopper's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincs, UK
Posts: 1,656
Big Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond repute
Moving Windows 10 to new PC

I have recently ordered parts to build a complete new PC and have Windows 10 Pro on my current PC (it was originally Windows 7 Pro upgraded to Windows 10 Pro when it was free).

Will I be able to install it on my new PC using my existing licence key or will it not like every component changing and not work?
__________________
I'm not smiling because your joke was funny... I'm smiling because I know you'll be dead someday.



Photoblog : : Flickr : : Facebook : : Servage Hosting Referrer Link
Big Bopper is offline  
Send a message via MSN to Big Bopper Send a message via Yahoo to Big Bopper
Reply With Quote
Old 06-Apr-2017, 01:35   #2
EvilGrin
my other forum is full
EvilGrin's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancs, UK.
Posts: 8,152
EvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond reputeEvilGrin has a reputation beyond repute
As it's an upgrade, it is tied to the hardware. So no. You cannot transfer it.
__________________
Edugeek - Techies in Education!
EvilGrin is offline  
Send a message via ICQ to EvilGrin Send a message via AIM to EvilGrin Send a message via MSN to EvilGrin Send a message via Yahoo to EvilGrin  EvilGrinUK 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-Apr-2017, 02:11   #3
Belgarath
off topic
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,589
Belgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond reputeBelgarath has a reputation beyond repute
I upgraded my Dad's PC a few months ago, that was an upgraded Windows 10 and it allowed it to be used (I think my Dad had to re-enter his original key or something). I think the reason it allowed it was that he was upgrading from a stupidly old CPU/mobo so it didn't/couldn't register as tied to that hardware. So perhaps worth a try.

Otherwise there are a few suggestions for new keys on TBK's thread here: http://www.trickery.net/bb/showthread.php?t=64536
Belgarath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-Apr-2017, 14:06   #4
CaptainTrips
topicophiliac
CaptainTrips's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wormwood Scrubs
Posts: 2,127
CaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond repute
You can move a Windows 10 license. Convert your current user account to a Microsoft account, then you can use the activation troubleshooter on your new PC. This feature was introduced with the current build (14393).

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...ardware-change
CaptainTrips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-Apr-2017, 14:11   #5
Big Bopper
WTF
Big Bopper's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincs, UK
Posts: 1,656
Big Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond reputeBig Bopper has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainTrips View Post
You can move a Windows 10 license. Convert your current user account to a Microsoft account, then you can use the activation troubleshooter on your new PC. This feature was introduced with the current build (14393).

https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/...ardware-change
Thanks! will go and do that now.
__________________
I'm not smiling because your joke was funny... I'm smiling because I know you'll be dead someday.



Photoblog : : Flickr : : Facebook : : Servage Hosting Referrer Link
Big Bopper is offline  
Send a message via MSN to Big Bopper Send a message via Yahoo to Big Bopper
Reply With Quote
Old 06-Apr-2017, 15:30   #6
CaptainTrips
topicophiliac
CaptainTrips's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wormwood Scrubs
Posts: 2,127
CaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond reputeCaptainTrips has a reputation beyond repute
I've just read there's a new media creation tool out for that creators update. I'd grab it and make a new USB stick or DVD to avoid having to upgrade Windows again next week.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10
CaptainTrips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   trickery.net > Technical > Software & Security


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Anti-Piracy Update "Phones Home" Belgarath Discussion 38 14-Mar-2010 20:47
Vista SP1 Released Norphy Software & Security 17 23-Mar-2008 12:26
x64 OPERATING SYSTEMS TIGERNUT Software & Security 28 09-Mar-2007 15:09
Windows Nagulator GroovYF Software & Security 34 27-Apr-2006 13:04
Computer Help Goody Half-Life: Counter-Strike 35 13-Jun-2004 14:00

Users Viewing Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0 Release Candidate 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2013, trickery.net